The Anzac Centenary Art Prize project

The concept of conducting art prize competitions in both Australia and Turkey to commemorate the legacy of those heroes who fought on the Gallipoli Peninsula in 1915 was conceived in 2004 and developed during 2004-2005.

The first official announcement of this project was made on 15 April 2005 by the then Prime Minister of Australia, the Honorable John Howard MP, of the intention to conduct the art prize competitions in Australia and Turkey.

The project has achieved over a decade of successful competition due to the wonderful support from:

Artists in Australia, New Zealand and Turkey; and Governments and Communities in Australia and Turkey.

For information relating to the Canakkale Art prize competition in Turkey, visit

For more information about the Gallipoli Memorial Club please click here

Winner of the 2023 Gallipoli Art Prize


Previous winners:
Winner 2022:  Along the ride to Damascus Deirdre Bean

Winner 2021: Forgotten Heroes Geoff Harvey

Winner 2020: Breathe Alison Mackay

Winner 2019: War Pigeon Diaries Martin King

Winner 2018: Mont St Quentin Steve Lopes

Winner 2017: The Sphinx, Perpetual Peace Amanda Penrose Hart

Winner 2016: Yeah, Mate Jiawei Shen with his painting

Winner 2015: Boy Soldiers by Sally Robinson.

Winner 2014: Gallipoli evening 2013 by Idris Murphy.

Winner 2013: Dog in a Gas Mask by Peter Wegner.

Winner 2012: Trench Interment by Geoff Harvey.

Winner 2011: Sacrifice by Hadyn Wilson.

Winner 2010: The dead march here today by Raymond Arnold.

Winner 2009: Smoke/PinkLandscape/Shovel by Euan Macleod.

Winner 2008: Max Carment, War Veteran (The last portrait) by Tom Carment.

Winner 2007: Glorus Fallen by Lianne Gough.

Winner 2006: Ataturk’s Legacy by Margaret Hadfield.

Please click below to view the latest Art Prize catalogue and catalogues from previous years:
Catalogue 2023 Art Prize

Catalogue 2022 Art Prize

Catalogue 2021 Art Prize

Catalogue 2020 Art Prize

Catalogue 2019 Art Prize

Catalogue 2018 Art Prize

Catalogue 2017 Art Prize

Catalogue 2016 Art Prize

Catalogue 2015 Art Prize

Catalogue 2014 Art Prize

Catalogue 2013 Art Prize

Catalogue 2012 Art Prize

The Gallipoli Art Prize Organising Committee annually invites any eligible artist to submit a painting for the Gallipoli Art Prize, which will be administered by the Gallipoli Memorial Club Limited (the “Club”) and under the control of the Gallipoli Art Prize Organizing Committee.

Prize money of $20,000 is awarded to the artist of the winning entry subject to the conditions below. The acquisition of the work and its copyright remain property of the Gallipoli Memorial Club Museum Fund.

The Gallipoli Art Prize will be awarded to the artist who best depicts the spirit of the Gallipoli Campaign as expressed in the Club’s “Creed”.

The Club’s Creed is:

We believe that within the community there exists an obligation for all to preserve the special qualities of loyalty, respect, love of country, courage and comradeship which were personified by the heroes of the Gallipoli Campaign and bequeathed to all humanity as a foundation for perpetual peace and universal freedom.

Each competitor must either have been born in Australia, New Zealand or Turkey or hold Australian, New Zealand or Turkish citizenship.

Each competitor may, at their expense, submit one piece of original work produced in either oil, acrylic, water-color or mixed. The term of reference to be used is the spirit of the Gallipoli Campaign as expressed in the Club’s Creed.

Download the Application Form

Media and Marketing

Download the 2023 Art Prize Winner media release here
Download the 2023 Art Prize Finalists media release here
Download the 2022 Art Prize Winner media release here
Download the 2021 Art Prize Winner media release here
Download the 2021 Art Prize Finalists media release here

Download the 2020 Art Prize Winner media release here
Download the Virtual Tour media release here

Media Contact :Clare MacGregor Publicity 0418 195 524

Marketing Communications: Jacqui Bonner Marketing 0411 473 198